Note to guests/lurkers of this site. To continue reading content on some of our boards you will need to create an account.

Registration is free and easy, just remember your password and check back after your account has been approved by an administrator.

Please use the "contact us" link at the bottom of the page if you have any issues.

Got a smoker, help needed..

Rusty Kuntz

Got a smoker, help needed..

Post by Rusty Kuntz »

Hey froobs, your old pal Rusty here. I got a new electric smoker for Christmas, actually a Masterbuilt 30 in smoker :beer: I have zero experience with smoking meats, and would appreciate any recommendations.. I got some hickory, mesquite, and a premium blend chips. What would you recommend for my first attempt? I dont like ribs.. Thanks for any tips, tricks and recipes :beer:
Mr Bill

Re: Got a smoker, help needed..

Post by Mr Bill »

Sam’s Club or Walmart, get a Boston butt or picnic shoulder. (Pork). They will be approx 6-8lb... do a simple rub of salt pepper garlic powder, smoked paprika. Smoke until an internal temp of 200-205F. You will need a meat thermometer... something simple or fancy. Expect 8 hours of cooking time. Let it sit for 45 minutes and then shred it. Extremely hard to mess up and super good.
RubeTube
***Official Gibby Award Winner - November 2018***

Post by RubeTube »

Put your dink in it.
“We are nonviolent with people who are nonviolent with us.”
— Malcolm X

The Puppet Master
Lazlo

Post by Lazlo »

Give her a couple 7&7's and a pack of parliaments and see where it goes from there.
snore

Post by snore »